Denis Ranque began his career at the French Ministry for Industry, where he held various positions in the energy sector, before joining the Thomson group in 1983 as Planning Director. The following year, he moved to the electron tubes division, first as Director of Space Business, then, from 1986, as Director of the division's microwave tubes department. Two years later, the electron tubes division became the affiliate Thomson Tubes Electroniques, and Denis Ranque took over as Chief Executive of this subsidiary in 1989. In April 1992, he was appointed Chairman and CEO of Thomson Sintra Activités Sous-marines. Four years later, he became CEO of Thomson Marconi Sonar, the sonar systems joint venture set up by Thomson-CSF and GEC-Marconi. In January 1998, Denis Ranque was appointed Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Thomson-CSF group, now called Thales. He resigned from this position in May 2009, as a consequence of a change in shareholding. From February 2010 to June 2012 he has been Non-Executive Chairman of Technicolor. Since October 2001, he has also been Chairman of the Board of the Ecole des Mines ParisTech, and since September 2002, Chairman of the Cercle de l'Industrie, an association that unites France’s biggest industrial companies; both mandates ended in June 2012. He is a member of the Boards of directors of Saint-Gobain and CMA-CGM. Since October 2013, he has chaired the Haut Comité de Gouvernement d’Entreprise, the newly created independent body put in place by the French Code of corporate governance for monitoring and encouraging progress in this field. Denis Ranque, born 1952, is a graduate of France's École Polytechnique and the Corps des Mines.

Current mandates in addition to the one listed in the chart above are set forth below:
– Member of the Board of Directors of Saint Gobain
– Member of the Board of Directors of CMA-CGM
– Member of the Board of Directors of Scilab Enterprise SAS
– President of the French “Haut Comité de Gouvernement d’Entreprise”
– President of the Board of Fondation ParisTech

Former mandates for the last five years:
– Chairman and CEO of Thales (1998 to 2009)
– Director of CGG Veritas (2010 to 2012)
– Director of CMA CGM (2009 to 2012)
– Director of “Fonds Strategique d’Investissement” (2011 to 2012)
– Chairman of Technicolor (2010 to 2012)